GSA Prize

See the abstract of Rebecca Sugden’s prize-winning thesis

In 2001, the George Sand Association created the Janis M. Glasgow Memorial Prize to honor the memory of Janis Glasgow, whose 1966 dissertation, “Psychological Realism in George Sand’s Early Novels,” represents one of the first scholarly studies of Sand in North America. In 2004, the GSA voted to change the name of the award to the GSA Memorial Prize to honor all pioneering Sand scholars now deceased. Previous recipients are: Susan J. White (2004); Marie-Cécile Levet (2008); tied for first place, Rachel Corkle, Anne Marcoline, and Manon Mathias (2013); Marilyn Mallia (2015); Amélie Calderone (2017); and Rebecca Sugden (2019). The next prize will recognize the best dissertation on George Sand defended in the years 2019 through 2022. Any doctoral dissertation, in English or in French, in whole or in part on Sand may be submitted to the prize committee by the January 15 deadline. Two members of the Editorial Board of George Sand Studies, along with one outside reviewer, will serve as judges of the manuscripts.

To submit work for consideration for the award: by no later than January 15, 2022, please send an abstract of the dissertation, a curriculum vitae, and a letter of recommendation from the dissertation advisor, to Annabelle Rea. Finalists may be asked to submit the entire dissertation at a later date in the selection process.

To contribute to the fund, please write to Annabelle Rea ( for further information.